Tomato and Avocado Bowl

I have a new obsession…Something I thought I would never, in my life, put into my body. But after yesterday, I think I’ll eat one at every meal. Avocados are great in anything, but this recipe that I made up in a crunch yesterday is one that is worthy of trying.

Processed with VSCO with m2 preset
Processed with VSCO with m2 preset

It is seriously the easiest recipe ever, it took me about 30 minutes to fix, including the chill time at the end.

All you need is: 

1 Avocado

Half of a container of red cherry tomatoes

1/3 Cup Lemon Juice

1 tsp basil

1 tsp sugar

1/2 cup quinoa

1/4 tsp of Worcestershire sauce

Directions:

First pour the quinoa into a small sauce pan and add 1 cup of water, bring to boil and then turn temperature down.

While the quinoa is cooking, Cut the Avocado into cubes, bite sized is your best bet, and then cut the cherry tomatoes in halves.

Processed with VSCO with m2 preset
Processed with VSCO with m2 preset

then combine the the avocado and tomatoes into the bowl, here you can add salt or pepper to taste, I personally didn’t add anything to mine, but looking back salt would have been good.

Processed with VSCO with m2 preset
Processed with VSCO with m2 preset

Then in a small bowl mix the lemon juice, basil and sugar, heath them for 10 seconds so that the sugar will dissolve.

Once the quinoa is fully cooked, add the lemon juice to the quinoa and stir, then add in a splash of Worcestershire sauce.

combine the quinoa with the tomatoes and avocados and place in freezer for 10 minutes and you’re ready to go!

Processed with VSCO with m2 preset
Processed with VSCO with m2 preset

You could also place in the refrigerator over night if you plan on serving it the next day, just change freezer to refrigerator.

I hope you enjoy this as much as my family did!

~Ash

 

Leave a Reply

